I Will Be Here…

wedding 1

Oh Happy Day!

Time for the mushiest gushiest blog post of 2015!  I am going to make you nauseated with this post.  So, take your Pepto and read on!

J and I celebrate 13 years of marriage this month.  We met when we were 19 and 20 years old.  Three years later he popped the question while I was in my bathrobe cooking rice (only because he was too excited to wait until our dinner plans that evening–kind of sweet!) and I said yes without a hesitation.  Boy, we thought we had it all figured out.  We had a five year plan of exactly what we were going to accomplish.  I believe that first five year plan also had a monthly calendar to keep us on track.  Isn’t that too funny?!

Needless to say our five year plan never materialized because life happened.  Amazing experiences, deep pain and events we could not have fathomed came to our door.  In 13 short years we have dealt with the highest of highs and the lowest of lows.  We have adjusted our plans many times over and we have somehow managed to not only stay married, but keep laughing and loving each other through all life gives us.  I’m not the easiest person to live with and love at times and he certainly has his moments too.  We fight, pick, nag, irritate and get on each others nerves.  However, there is no one I’d rather fight with and no one I’d rather share my joys and problems.

When I say my hubby is the glue that keeps us together I mean it.  This doesn’t just mean he keeps our little family together, but he is there for my family as well.  Anything my mother, sister or father have ever needed he has not hesitated but has jumped in and done what was needed.  When we cared for Dad last year there were just certain things that a father doesn’t want his daughters to have to deal with.  J took care of my Dad with such patience and tenderness it made me cry and still makes me cry.  When it was decided Mom needed to move in with us–he never hesitated.  He just started figuring out how to best arrange the house.  And maybe one day I will share all he has done for my sister, but that’s another story.

He is a phenomenal father.  I came home yesterday and he’d taught Munchkin the wrestling move the “ground and pound.”  There I was watching my little girl in her Rapunzel costume doing wrestling moves.  It was hysterical.  They do fun science projects together, lots of outside play time, reading time, cuddling time.  To me, he is father of the year every day.

He is my best friend.  He is my confidant.  He is my rock.  He is the kick in the butt when I need it.  And somehow, he still sees me as the 23 year old he married and not the nearly 40 year old with new lines, curves and bumps.  I also love his newly graying hair.

On our wedding day we had a family friend sing a Steven Curtis Chapman song, “I will be here.”  He has lived up to this song in every way over the last 13 years.  Happy Anniversary, J.  I love you more than I can put into words.

“I Will Be Here”

Tomorrow morning if you wake up
And the sun does not appear
I… I will be here
If in the dark we lose sight of love
Hold my hand and have no fear
‘Cause I… I will be hereI will be here
When you feel like being quiet
When you need to speak your mind
I will listen
And I will be here
When the laughter turns to crying
Through the winning, losing and trying
We’ll be together
‘Cause I will be here

Tomorrow morning if you wake up
And the future is unclear
I… I will be here
As sure as seasons are made for change
Our lifetimes are made for years
So I… I will be here

I will be here
And you can cry on my shoulder
When the mirror tells us we’re older
I will hold you
And I will be here
To watch you grow in beauty
And tell you all the things you are to me
I will be here

I will be true to the promise I have made
To you and to the One who gave you to me

And just as sure as seasons are made for change
Our lifetimes are made for years
So I… I will be here
We’ll be together
I will be here

       July 20, 2002

family water

My precious family…

Leave a Reply

